Tuesday, February 17, 2009



The Navarasas are supposed to be nine principal emotions. They are love, comedy, pathos, fury, valour, horror, disgust, wonder, peace.   

Red, blue and green are prinicipal colors which means any color can be expressed as a combination of each of them.

(a) Likewise can any human emotion be expressed as a combination of 9 prinicipal emotions?

(b) Red, blue and green are necessary and sufficient to represent all colors. Likewise, are the 9 prinicipal emotions necessary and sufficient?

Some notes:

1. It is worth noting that the minimum value (0 intensity) of red, green and blue corresponds to "black"
2. Lisewise what does the minmum value (0 intensity) of all the emotions correspond to?
Intuitively, I think it should be the emotion "peace". Then, it means "peace" should not be a principal emotion? (Interestingly, there were only 8 prinicipal emotions earlier and "peace" was added later; Maybe it is redundant).
3. I tried some tough emotions and was able to qualitatively describe them. For example:
 a. jealosy = fear + pathos?
 b. nostalgia = pathos +  comedy?

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?